All about the Dairy Group

What foods are included in the Dairy Group?

All fluid milk products and many foods made from milk that retain their calcium content, such as yogurt and cheese, are part of the Dairy Group. Calcium-fortified soymilk (soy beverage) is also included. Foods made from milk that have little to no calcium, such as cream cheese, cream, and butter, are not part of the Dairy Group.

How much food from the Dairy Group is needed daily?

The amount of dairy foods you need to eat depends on your age. The amount each person needs can vary between 2 and 3 cups each day. Those who are very physically active may need more. Recommended daily amounts are shown in the table below. 

What counts as a cup in the Dairy Group?

In general, 1 cup of milk, yogurt, or soymilk (soy beverage), 1 ½ ounces of natural cheese, or 2 ounces of processed cheese can be considered as 1 cup from the Dairy Group. When choosing dairy, fat-free and low-fat dairy are good options. The table below lists specific amounts that count as 1 cup in the Dairy Group towards your daily recommended intake. 

This article was originally published on Choose My Plate:

Older Post
Newer Post